Inside Ocean County Government

Election 2018, Ocean County, Toms River

Democratic Women Deliver Rebuke of Price After Hugin Endorsement

The Ocean County Democratic Women’s Caucus is firing back at Toms River Democrat President & Ocean County Freeholder candidate Teddy Price, following his endorsement of GOP U.S. Senate challenger Bob Hugin, and reaffirming their support for incumbent Senator Bob Menendez.

“Unfortunately, here in Ocean County we have had a recent spate of incidents that do not reflect the highest principles of the Democratic Party, the Ocean County Democrats, or the Women’s Caucus,” Emma Mammano (D – Brick), a former 10th legislative district state senate candidate said in a prepared statement on behalf of the caucus.

“As a Caucus of the Ocean County Democratic Party, we want to make it clear that we do not support Theodore Price as the Democratic Candidate for Ocean County Freeholder, nor do we support Bob Hugin for US Senate.”

Mammano’s criticism of Hugin was rooted in his support for President Donald J. Trump and the national Republican policy agenda – and how it may impact women’s issues.

“Although Hugin is strategically attempting to distance himself from President Trump, the fact of the matter is that Hugin was a Trump delegate to the 2016 Republican National Convention,” she said.

“In addition he was finance chairman for Trump’s New Jersey campaign and donated $100,000 to a pro-Trump super PAC and more than $100,000 to the Republican National Committee.” 

“We will not support a candidate that votes in lock-step with the current administration’s agenda, which aims to take women’s rights backward,” Mammano added.

The former state senate candidate also said that her caucus is currently focused on supporting women that running in Ocean County municipal races this cycle, rather than the freeholder candidates.

She said that candidates being supported by the women’s caucus include Sarah Reichenbecher for Point Pleasant Borough Council, Shawn Judson for Lacey Township Committee, Janit Buccella for Ocean Township (Waretown) Committee, and Joanne Sitek, Nicole Downs, and Denise Pobicki for Stafford Township Council.

Liked it? Take a second to support Ocean County Politics on Patreon!